Reflection: EDUC 6713

As personal, electronic devices gain more capabilities, our society has been becoming more and more reliant on this ubiquitous access to technology and information. In education, technology should be used as just another tool to achieve a desired outcome. By following the GAME plan that I created, I was able to gain a better understanding of how to include technology into my curriculums, without making it the main focus. I was able to find a few new things that required an immediate adjustment of my instruction.

In order to effectively integrate technology, I finally realized that I had to give some of the control of my high school math classes to my students. I started by assigning WebQuests, which guide students through an entire project. They end up learning about a specific topic along the way, by accessing the resources that are available to them online. I served as merely a guide for these projects, making sure that students were making the correct connections, and fully understanding the topics they were researching. Then, when they finally presented their finished products, I was amazed by the creativity and quality of their work. Not only did they learn the topic, but they had fun doing it as well.

Also, I started implementing PLATO, which is a web-based tutorial program that offers learning schedules, tailored to the needs of each student. Since my district recently purchased access to this software, I decided to give it a try. So, if certain students were struggling with a particular lesson, I gave them access to those tutorials, and they were able to work on them at home or during their free time at school. I found that students really enjoyed having the ability to review and test their knowledge of the lesson that we just covered, or refresh their memoires of lessons that we covered a long time ago. Also, and most importantly, it brought most of the students who used it back up to pace with the class. However, I did find one negative aspect of the program. Since students had the ability to review the content on their own time with the tutorial, it made them less likely to ask questions during class. They did not want to stick out in front of everyone else.

I plan on continuing my GAME plan for many years to come. Since I am constantly monitoring it, I will be able to make adjustments where they are necessary. By doing this, I will always be able to keep track of new, emerging technologies, so that my students have the most advantages possible.

References

Cennamo, K., Ross, J., & Ertmer, P. (2009). Technology integration for meaningful classroom use: A standards-based approach (Laureate Education custom edition). Belmont, CA: Wadsworth, Cengage Learning.

International Society for Technology in Education. (2007). The ISTE National Educational Technology Standards (NETS•S) and Performance Indicators for Students. Retrieved from http://www.iste.org/Content/NavigationMenu/NETS/ForStudents/2007Standards/NETS_for_Students_2007_Standards.pdf

International Society for Technology in Education. (2008). The ISTE National Educational Technology Standards (NETS•T) and Performance Indicators for Teachers. Retrieved from http://www.iste.org/Content/NavigationMenu/NETS/ForTeachers/2008Standards/NETS_T_Standards_Final.pdf

Leave a Reply

